The Bolds

the-bolds
The Bolds, by Julian Clary

I’m using this for my LOL worthy square on my book bingo.

After two hyenas witness a newlywed couple be devoured while on safari, they decide being a person sounds like fun, and they’ve picked up a fair amount of English listening to tourists all these years, so why not? They quickly dress in the newly vacant clothes and POOF they’re taken for humans.

What a fun premise! And what a disappointment. The story arc didn’t quite feel finished, and there were all sorts of opportunities built right into the plot for the author to heighten the stakes but Clary just let them slip through his fingers. (view spoiler) It’s like the whole book was a lead up to a story that never happened.

I have to admit something here: I wasn’t sure whether this was a YA book or an adult book. When I later explained to someone that it’s a book about hyenas who impersonate humans and live in a little house in London with their two pup children, I was viciously mocked for not realizing instantly it’s intended for young readers, like second and third grade. Perhaps I would have liked it better if it had been written for an older audience like I was expecting. Oh well.

Leave a comment